Morrissey and 18th C music

I only had one ethnomusicology class in college, and only a casual singer's smattering of music theory, but this is really interesting.

I can't wait until Morrissey is accepted into the canon of 20th-21st century art, as an artist and not just a pop singer. Someday he'll be studied in literature classes, too- and quite rightly so.

Thank you very much Danny.

I have very little knowledge of classical music, I have to listen Georg Philippe Telemann’s recorder concerto in C-Maj, third movement, Adagio then I'll fully understand the writer's theory.

two things to say about this

What stands out to me is the concept of the contrast between the melancholy minor vocal melody and the upbeat bright music of the instruments. Doesn't this make a lot of sense in so many ways when we think about the Smiths? The appeal of the music, the way it can be so exciting and make you feel good, versus the common perception that the music is gloomy, because of some of the subject matter and the way Morrissey is singing.

The contrast makes each part, sad vs happy to put it in insultingly simple terms, stand out in stark contrast against the other and makes each more effective. This has not occurred to me before in regards to The Smiths music.

Personality-wise it makes a lot of sense, too. Even in The Smiths, in a lot of ways Morrissey was on his own, musically speaking, and personality-wise. Wish I was saying that better. It's not to say there was not musical collaboration. Obviously there was. But haven't we sort of decided by now that Johnny was the liaison between Morrissey and the rhythm section?

So that was part one.